top of page
  • Writer's picturemrspreppyrebel

Toffee Takeover- Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies


My husband's favorite candy bar is the toffee chocolate packed Heath Bar. I found the Heath chips and originally purchased them for our hot cocoa charcuterie board but knew they needed to be in a cookie too!

The cookie recipe I normally use calls for shortening, but of course I didn't have any on hand. I headed to google and found a simple chocolate chip cookie recipe from Betty Crocker for my base.


I find cookies made with butter, instead of shortening, to be tastier. The butter seems to make them less dense and softer.


I just followed the Betty Crocker recipe, but substituted one cup of chocolate chips for an entire bag (oh yes! the entire bag) of Heath bits. I omitted the optional nuts too, because the Heath gives the cookies a nice little crunch.


I bake in a gas oven, and I found the lower end of the suggested bake time to be accurate for my oven. I'm notorious for under baking my cookies. The gas oven has helped me with that, though.


I baked half of my cookies on metal cookie sheets and half on stone cookie sheets. I learned I prefer the metal cookie sheets, hands down. The cookies on the stone took longer to bake, aren't perfectly round, and have a different color to them. The cookies on the metal cookie sheet have a consistent shape and color.


I always line my baking sheets with parchment paper too. I find it helps the bottoms cook evenly. It also makes cleanup super quick! Years ago, I was able to find parchment paper that had aluminum foil on the bottom, so it didn't move on the cookie sheet. Unfortunately, the past couple of years I haven't seen it in stores; so I had to improvise. I just spray a little non stick cooking spray on my sheets before placing the parchment. This keeps the paper in place!


My only other advice would be to ALWAYS taste test ( but not the raw batter). I think that's the most important part! Don't you?!


I can't wait to hear what you think of this fun little twist on a basic chocolate chip cookie! Happy Baking!









47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page