top of page
  • Writer's picturemrspreppyrebel

Cheeseburger + Pasta? Yes, Please!


At the beginning of quarantine ( a year ago) I was in great shape. I was at my ideal weight. I was toned. I was running, lifting light weights and practicing yoga every day. Then, I started drinking much more than normal and eating things I'd never normally eat. I'm talking fast food several times a week. By September, I had gained 10+ lbs. When you are 5'2, every pound counts.


I wasn't over weight, but I didn't feel good. My clothes didn't fit. I decided to try weight watchers; because counting calories with my normal workout routine wasn't working. The best thing I've learned from WW is the importance of macros. Not all calories are equal. Since November I've been able to maintain my ideal weight using WW.


I love sweets, as y'all probably know, and pasta!! With WW I could still have both in moderation. I found the Cheeseburger Stuffed Shells recipe on WW's website and tweaked it just a bit. It has quickly become a family favorite. My dad and hubby love it, which is a huge win! It is 7 WW points for those on the green plan.


Cheeseburger Stuffed Shells


Ingredients

12 Jumbo shells

12 oz 96% lean ground beef

1 cup raw chopped onion

3/4 Canned tomato sauce

1/2 cup (divided) Chopped dill pickles

2 Tbsp Ketchup

2 Tbsp Mustard

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

3/4 Cup reduced fat cheddar cheese

1 Cup shredded iceberg lettuce

1 Cup chopped fresh tomato


Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cook pasta until al dente. Drain & rinse in cold water.

Heat large nonstick pan over medium-high heat.

Add onion, ground beef, salt & pepper. Cook until beef is done.

Remove from heat. Stir in tomato sauce, 1/4 cup pickles, ketchup & mustard, 1/2 cup cheese, stirring until cheese melts.

Coat baking dish with nonstick spray.

Stuff beef mixture into shells (about 2 Tbsp each). Arrange stuffed shells into backing dish and sprinkle with 1/4 cup cheese.

Bake 20-25 minutes.

Top with lettuce, tomato and pickles.


Serving size is 3 shells.









67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page