top of page
  • Writer's picturemrspreppyrebel

Strawberry Sour Cream Pound Cake


This recipe is a family favorite! I've been making it for years. Let me tell you, leave your low calorie, New Year's resolutions at the door on this one.


Strawberry is perfect for Valentine's Day, because it's pink; but you could make this lemon, blueberry or any other flavor (if you can find the jello packet). That's right, a Jello packet is what gives this cake its fun color and bold flavor.

This recipe is made for a tube pan. I haven't tried to make it in a loaf or any other baking dish; so I don't recommend. You can grab a tube pan at any big box store or even many grocery stores.


You're going to need lots of ingredients too. 3 cups flour, 3 cups sugar (I know, that's a lot of sugar!), 2 sticks of butter, 1 cup sour cream and 6 eggs!


Make sure your eggs are room temperature. Also, measure your flour by spooning it into a measuring cup and leveling off. Do not scoop the flour out of the bag, it will make a dense cake! I like to handwrite my recipes that are passed down and keep them in a notebook. I'm attaching the photo of the actual recipe I use.. Ignore my spelling!


Ingredients:

1/2 lb butter (2 sticks) - I use unsalted

3 cups sugar

1 cup sour cream

1/2 tsp. baking soda

6 large eggs (room temperature)

1 tsp. vanilla

3 oz strawberry or any jello dry packet (optional)


Method

  1. Cream butter & sugar together in a large bowl. ( I use a stand mixer).

  2. Add sour cream, mixing until incorporated.

  3. Sift baking soda and flour together (I use a fine mesh strainer). Add to the creamed mixture, alternating a bit of flour with 1 egg. Beat each egg in one at a time.

  4. Add vanilla & optional jello flavor. Mix until combined.

  5. Pour into a lightly greased tube pan and bake at 325 degrees for 1 hour and 20 minutes.


Usually I make the topping by mixing powdered sugar with a bit of water or milk and drizzling over the top. Since Valentine's Day is fast approaching, I wanted to make this cake a little more festive. I melted white chocolate baking chips and drizzled it over the top. While the chocolate was still melted I sprinkled the top with Valentine's sprinkles.


I like to eat the cake just like this. My husband likes to eat it with a big scoop of Neapolitan ice cream on the side!

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page