top of page
  • Writer's picturemrspreppyrebel

Old Fashioned Split Pea in an Instant


Y'all know by now that I love my pressure cooker. I'm still amazed how quickly I can make some of my favorite recipes, that used to take all day!


Split pea soup, for example, is one of my husband's favorites. It would take 8-10 hours in the slow cooker. And let me tell you, it never got as thick and creamy as it does in the Instant Pot!


Usually, I make this soup when I have a left over Honey Baked Ham around the holidays. If I don't have leftover ham, I buy a ham steak and a couple ham hocks. It's not quite the same as the honey ham, but it's still delicious!


Ingredients

Butter

1 onion diced

2 ribs celery diced

2 carrots diced

ham steak diced

2 ham hocks

2 bay leaves

4 cups chicken broth or stock (whatever I have on hand)

2 cups water

salt & pepper

1 bag (1 pound) split green peas ( rinsed)


Method

  1. Turn pressure cooker on saute and melt butter. Add the diced onion, carrot & celery. cook until soft.

  2. Add peas, stock or broth, water, diced ham, hocks and bay leaves.

  3. Cover and turn to sealing. Cook on high pressure for 20 minutes

  4. Quick release the pressure.

  5. Serve with yummy, hearty bread and a fresh salad.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page