top of page
  • Writer's picturemrspreppyrebel

Gram's Homemade Peanut Butter Eggs

These little candies were a childhood staple. My Gram makes them (and her mom probably did too), my mom makes them, & now I make them. You can, also, substitute the PB for flaked coconut & the milk chocolate for dark or semisweet.



What you need:

1/4 lb butter softened

1/2 lb (8oz) cream cheese

1/2 tsp. salt

2 lbs (oh yes!) powdered sugar

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla

2-1/2 cups Peanut Butter (the old school, sugary kind- trust me, speaking from experience. this is not the time for clean ingredients)

24oz milk chocolate chips or melting chocolate


Method:

1. Mix the butter & cream cheese together. I used my stand mixer. It almost overflowed.

2. Add the powdered sugar & mix well. Add PB (or coconut), vanilla, salt & mix until well blended.

3.Place mixture in the refrigerator & chill at least 1 hour.

4. For the mixture into egg shapes & refrigerate at least 1 more hour.

5. Melt chocolate in microwave or double boiler. (I use a double boiler)

6. Using a large toothpick (I actually roll with a spoon), dip each egg into the melted chocolate. Arrange on a wax paper lined cookie sheet & allow chocolate to harden.



My first few were hideous. I tried different methods of coating them with chocolate. I found rolling them in the chocolate with a spoon was the best technique for me. My plan was to use pastel colored chocolate melts to drizzle over the tops, but that didn't happen. Maybe next year.


You can shop my look & some of my kitchen tools and decor here


556 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page