top of page
  • Writer's picturemrspreppyrebel

Move Over Minimalist. It's Time for Grandmillennial Decor to Shine.



I never in a million years thought I would be using my childhood home or my grandmother's home as inpso when decorating our new home (although I love you both & now your aesthetic dearly); but here we are. I do not consider myself a millennial (although I believe I technically fall into that category). I do, however, consider myself a Grandmillennial! Grand, in the sense that more is always more, and things should be sparkly and shiny; but Grand actually comes from Grandma. Yep, Grandmillennial style (originally named by House Beautiful) is basically Grandma chic. It's a modern interpretation of Grandma's style. Traditional decor is the inspiration for Grandmillennials, embracing a maximalist aesthetic over minimalism (like most millennials

gravitate toward).

Grandmillennials are rebelling against the stark white and gray, monochromatic designs that have been dominating the scene. They are filling our homes with antiques, color, busy patterns and chinoiserie (Chinese motifs & techniques in art & decor). I am filling our home with these things. 18 year old me would have never thought I'd love nothing more than spending a day antiquing.


Prints like toile, trellis, gingham and florals are mixed with rich textures like leather and tweed. Grandmillennial decor is elegant, yet comfortable. I, personally, have oriental rugs all over the house, even in my bathrooms. Brass lamps, ginger jars, topiaries, and crystal candy dishes (for the bridge mix just like Gram, duh) are rampant in our home. Over sized furniture and warm colors keeps our home from feeling stuffy, to formal, or too dated. My biggest obsessions are currently lamps. They give a warm, inviting glow (I despise overhead lighting).


Grandmillennial lifestyle is, also, bringing back the art of entertaining. A beautiful wet bar or bar cart for fixing old fashioneds and extra dirty martinis are key. Cocktail hour and dinner parties are being resurrected. Beautiful tablescapes with miss matched china in florals or rose famille patterns are set with cloth napkins and crystal drink ware.


So, to me, Grandmillennial is more than decor. It's a lifestyle that honors the past and tradition. It's elegance, luxury and familiarity. It's a movement in design and lifestyle that I am proud to be a part of.

115 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page