top of page
  • Writer's picturemrspreppyrebel

A Palace Fit for....Us!

Updated: Mar 26, 2020

This past weekend was spent in Williamsburg, Virginia. What a wonderful way to close out Spring Break. The weather was perfect, and we enjoyed some much needed family time.


I was tremendously inspired by the beautiful city, William & Mary, Merchant Square & Colonial Williamsburg itself. The Governor's Palace, though, took my breath away.


If you've seen my insta stories you may already know I've been redecorating our living room. The modern farmhouse, gray walls, & chalk paint have been on their way out (of my home) for the last few months. Don't get me wrong, I still love a modern farmhouse. It's just time for a change in our home.


Recently, I've been drawn to chinoiserie chic decor, eclectic yet traditional; influenced by Asian motifs; largely popular during the 18th century. Bamboo, ginger jars, orchids, foo dogs (or fu dogs, that are actually lions) are just a few elements I've added to our decor.


I'm going to try to dig up pictures of the first apartment I lived in alone (yay, no roomies!). I had a green Queen Anne style sofa and a pink wingback chair. I decorated with a tobacco leaf lamp & antique accents. I cringe when I consider where those lovely pieces could be now.


Six years ago I designed & decorated our current home. Farmhouse decor was everywhere. I slapped chalk paint on everything I could. There was very little color in the house. Everything was blue, gray, & white. If you know anything about me, you know I LIVE for color!


The colors of the Governor's Palace were everything I had been dreaming about for our own home. Bright blue & green popped against the intricate, stark white moldings & ceilings. I had a grin I could not wipe off my face. Seriously, ask my husband! I had found my happy place with design & decor.


Immediately, I told my husband I was going to paint the walls the same color blue as the Palace (see photo below). Much to my surprise, he said ok!


Will we go with blue? I'm not quite sure; but the color with be greatly incorporated in our home. White walls with blue sofas are a possibility, too. We shall see!


I would love to hear any design tips you have, too! Bellow are the pictures of the beautiful Governor's Palace in Williamsburg, VA; my inspiration for our living room. You can also shop my home decor picks, inspired by the Palace at www.liketoknow.it/mrspreppyrebel


I hope you follow along with me on this journey!


-xo-

Ashley




166 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page